Wine tasting in cloisters and spaces inside some of the most beautiful and historical Florentine buildings. A lot of music and theatrical events throughout Florence’s historical center with wine tasting throughout the streets and many events in a short period! Time dedicated to wellness, entertainment, laughter and everything that good wines has to offer: in one word, friendship. This is what you can expect from the 2011 edition of Wine Town Florence.
The event will be held on September 24th and 25th is different places of Florence like:
Piazza del Mercato Centrale
An architecturally interesting structure erected during the brief period when Florence was the capital of Italy. It was designed by Giuseppe Mengoni, the same architect who created the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II in Milan. The market, with its solid yet lightweight steel frame reflects the light of the Parisian markets of Les Halles, representing a true reference to what was the beginning of the industrial era. The structure was destined from the beginning to sustain one of the fundamental pillars of society – food.
Palazzo Pitti is a magnificent palace located in the Oltrarno neighborhood of Florence. A multitude of museums are housed within including: a fine art gallery (la Galleria Palatina, with masterpieces by Raffaello, Tiziano, etc.) curated in chronological order from the sixteenth to eighteenth centuries; the royal apartments; a modern art museum (with works from the Macchiaioli movement), and other specialized collections including the Museum of the Applied Arts; The Costume Gallery – one of the largest Italian museums dedicated to fashion; the Porcelain Museum and the Carriage Museum. The monumental Boboli gardens are the finest example in the world of Italian gardens and its 17th century derivatives.
Chiostro Grande dell’Ammannati (Piazza S. Spirito, 28)
“Il Chiostro Grande” (Grand Cloister), was created by Bartolomeo Ammannati between 1564 and 1569 and set the standard for what was to be defined as Florentine Renaissance architectural design: a trio of columns, rounded arches melding with lintels and supporting corner pillars. Discipline and order sets the tone. Following the suppression of monasteries January 1, 1871; Francesco Ferrucci’s glorious barracks settled into this beautiful space until 2007 when the Military reconfigured their organizational make up and the Grand Cloister was designated to house the Florence Archive Center. On the east wing, where the Cloister of the Dead joins in, we find the New Refectory preceded by an anti-refectory decorated in 1597 with frescos by Bernardino Poccetti. The Refectory itself was delightfully frescoed in the late 16th century and later divided into two separate areas in the 19th century. Also accessible through the Grand Cloister is the Corsini di Santa Spirito chapel dating back to the 1400s
Palazzo Corsini Suarez (Via Maggio, 42)
This palace housed the Corsini family after they left the Antinori Corsini palace in Borgo Santa Croce. It was constructed at the end of the fourteenth century following the elimination of several houses that had been burnt down during the Ciompi skirmish in 1378. It was said that in 1301 Sant’Andrea Corsini was born in one of the houses that were eliminated. It was Filippo Corsini a six term magistrate who ordered the work to be done. It is apparent from several internal details that the palace’s foundation is based on the fusion of three separate buildings while externally the facades were united to appear as one. We can therefore trace back the first and second set of windows as well as the Corsini family crest to the beginning of the 14th century, prior to the start of actual construction. In 1590, the Castilian noble Baldassarre Suarez della Concha, purchased the property. The Suarez family died out in 1799 and the Order of “Cavalleresco” was suppressed leaving the building to become city property. Today the 20th century archives of the Vieusseux Cabinet are housed here.
Palazzo Guicciardini (via Guicciardini, 15)
Piero di Ghino Guicciardini, banker and politician, accumulated multiple properties between 1342 and 1365 which culminated in the creation of a “Casa Grande” that they called Guicciardini’s. Later on, Guicciarini brothers Girolamo and Piero decided to transform the group of properties into a single elegant palace. Marquee Piero Guicciardini declared that ownership was to be passed down from generation to generation exclusively via the first born son rather than dividing the property among siblings. This allowed for the building to remain fairly intact until the 19th century.
Loggia del Grano (Corner of Via dei Neri, Via dei Castellani)
Grand Duke Cosimo II commissioned the construction of this structure in 1619 for the purpose of hosting the grain market. But as early as 1690 it was overshadowed by the Granaio dell’Abbondanza located on the other side of the river and a series of transformations and variations began in order to reutilize the space. At one point a print shop opened and the space became the headquarters of the regional newspaper “Il Monitore Toscano”. In the second half of the 1800s it was incorporated into the surrounding building and driven by the desire of actor Tommaso Salviati a theater was opened here and was called The Logge.
Taste Santa Cristina wine and take a picture of the bottle. Than, go to their website and play! They have a very fun contest (Stappa e Scatta) going on and you could win an iPad2. Not bad, ah?
Palazzo Nonfinito (Via del Proconsolo, 12)
n 1593 Alessandro di Camillo Strozzi commissioned Bernardo Buontalento one of the best and most prolific architects of the time to build this palazzo right near the Duomo, but for reasons still unclear today; it was never finished. Currently, it is occupied by the University of Florence with both the Anthropo-Ethnological section of the Museum of Natural History as well as the Institute of Anthropology
Palazzo Pazzi Quaratesi (Via del Proconsolo, 10)
Pazzi Palace also known as the Congiura or Pazzi-Quaratesi Palace sits on via del Proconsolo. It was Jacopo de’ Pazzi, one of the famous conspirators, who built this palace in the middle of the 14th century on the foundations of several smaller homes belonging to his family. The reason for constructing such a large and imposing structure most likely had to do with the rivalry between the Pazzi and De’Medici families over political control of the city of Florence. It was part of the Pazzi family estate until a very recent 1931 when ownership passed to INPS and today is used as the Florentine tax headquarters.
Palazzo Gianfigliazzi (via Tornabuoni, 1)
Palazzo Gianfigliazzi, facing Lungarno Corsini constitutes the nucleus of the most important conglomeration of homes owned but the Gianfigliazzi extended family up until the end of the 1700s. The now united elegant building crowned by a roomy loggia (columned and arched porch) dating back to the 1300s, has undergone multiple modifications and restorations over the centuries.
In 1818 when the noble family died out, the palace was converted into a hotel called “Delle Quattro Nazioni”. Of some of the hotel’s most famous guests was Alessandro Manzoni who in 1827, referring to the Arno wrote the famous phrase “nelle cui acque risciacquai i miei cenci” (it is in these waters that I rinse my rags).
Magistero (Via del Parione, 7)
The ex-convent is situated along via del Parione and is a continuation of the right flank of the Santa Trinita Church. It was constructed between 1584 and 1593 by Alfonso Parigi il Vecchio based on Bernardo Buontalenti’s architectural designs. Consisting of an open space enhanced by geometric designs created by flowerbeds and a water-well in the center; it is surrounded on four sides by wide arcades boasting fully rounded arches resting on massive columns with doric capitals supporting its cross vaults.
Opening hours of the event
Saturday 24 September 2011 from 11.00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Sunday 25 September 2011 from 11.00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
The tastings will be conducted during the opening hours of the event upon purschasing the WineCard.
Download the program here.
The event is coordinated by Wine Town Firenze
Tel. +39 055 2050400/462
Fax. +39 055 2050500
Official website: http://www.winetown.it/en